Book Cover Update

Thanks to the help of my readers and a fellow author, I now have a back cover summary that I really like.  I am still open to comments, critiques, and suggestions, so feel free to share them.

In related news, I have also submitted the information needed to get my book cover designed.  Perry already has a few ideas and I can’t wait to see them.  Be on the lookout for the Book Cover reveal in the next couple of weeks.

 In other news, I may not have a blog post the week of July 7-14 due our family taking care of five of our cousins that week.  We will be rather busy.

 Back Cover Summary for “A Mighty Fortress”:

“Oh, God, no! They wouldn’t!”

“What?” Ruth exclaimed.

“Stay back!” Joshua ordered urgently. “Get deeper into the woods and stay down low to the ground.”

Joshua heard her moving quickly, but quietly. In one swift move, he grabbed his rifle and lay flat to the ground.

Joshua and Ruth Brookings, are traveling by stagecoach to finally join their parents in Montana. Attacked by murderous outlaws, they barely escape with their lives and must survive in the barren Wyoming and Montana territories and escape the man who’s hunting them.

Seven years ago, Jed Stuart ran away from home and joined Tom’s gang. Jed is tired of the lawlessness and wants out. The only problem? He is the boss’s right-hand man and will never be able to leave. What’s one more stagecoach robbery?

Can Joshua lean on God’s strength to keep himself and his sister alive until they find a town?   Will Jed be able to face his anger or will they consume him completely? All three are running–the hunter and hunted. What will happen when they meet?

6 thoughts on “Book Cover Update

  1. Gail says:

    Sorry for the corrections again, Faith. Your first line could definitely be construed as a cussing phrase. If I didn’t know you and already read your book, I would assume that there is swearing in the book and wouldn’t read it.

    Also, the second to the last question has an incorrect usage of “they”. Talk to me if you don’t get it.

    Otherwise, I really like it. It captures one’s attention and interest.

    Do you want to say “teenagers Joshua and Ruth” to set up that they are very young?

    • Faith Blum says:

      I was a bit afraid of that. I’ll see what I can do about it. As for the second to last question, I had missed that. Thank you! I will fix it. Yes, I suppose I could say that Joshua and Ruth are teens.

  2. Juliet Nicole says:

    The comma after ‘Brookings’ in the first line is incorrect; you only put a comma after a name or names like that if the names are parenthetical (for instance: Two teens, Joshua and Ruth Brookings, are traveling…’).

    I believe the last sentence of paragraph two could be altered to fit better. ‘He is the boss’s right hand man’ and ‘what’s one more stagecoach robbery?’ are two separate arguments, so an ‘And’ at the beginning of that last sentence would clear up the logic. Also, maybe an ‘anyway’ at the end of it would portray his attitude more? I don’t know, I just remember that you had it in your last version, and it emphasized his reluctance, to me.

    It is awesome. I like it way better than the last version, especially the part about Jed.

  3. Naomi says:

    I really like it! Great job Faith!
    I do have a question, however; what’s the ‘they’ in the following sentence?
    Will Jed be able to face his anger or will they consume him completely?

Leave a Reply

