Actually Finishing Something [in] July: Week One

Image

I really liked this idea for a blog event. And I really like to make goals. Combine these two likes and you get this blog post. So here are the answers to my questions. I expect my readers to help keep me accountable.

1) What is your writing goal? 

Writing goal #1: Get A Mighty Fortress edited through chapter 20.

Writing goal #2: Write at least 1,000 words per week in Be Thou My Vision.

2) Give us a short synopsis of your project. What makes it unique?

A Mighty Fortress: After their stagecoach is attacked by outlaws, an adventurous young man and his timid sister flee into unsettled territory and must find their way to town before they are killed by a pursuing gunslinger.

Be Thou My Vision: After learning of her younger brother’s death, an outspoken spinster defies her father and starts going to church, where she begins to care for the widower pastor’s two rambunctious boys who need a mother’s love.

One thing I think is unique in both of these books is the Christianity factor. Not many Westerns have the main characters as committed Christians.

3)How long have you been working on this project? 

A Mighty Fortress has been in the works for a couple of years, though only seriously in the works since October 2012. I started Be Thou My Vision in June 2013 and have been working steadily on it.

4) How often do you intend to write in order to reach your goal by August 1st? 

At least every other day.

5) Introduce us to three of your favorite characters in this project.

Joshua Brookings is an adventurous young man who must protect his younger sister from hunger, wild animals, and her fears as they escape from a murderous outlaw who robbed the stagecoach they were on.

 Jed Stuart is a murderous outlaw with anger problems. He is in pursuit of two teenagers after he and his friends rob the stagecoach they were on.

Anna Stuart is an outspoken spinster who befriends two motherless boys, in turn helping out the Pastor of the church.

6)  Go to page 16 (or 6, 26, or 66!) of your writing project. Share your favorite line or snippet on the page.

A Mighty Fortress (page 16): “A cloud of oncoming dust caught his eyes. The stage was on its way. Ten minutes later, Jed had his rifle resting in his shoulder, the hammer was pulled back and he worked on setting his aim. The stage was just coming into sight and Jed put his finger in the trigger guard. He squeezed the trigger just as his ears registered a startled cry from behind him.”

Be Thou My Vision (page 6): “By the time Caleb finished reading the letter, I was crying silently. Even Caleb’s voice had become subdued by the end of the letter. I couldn’t believe that Jed had done all those things.”

7) Tea or coffee? 

Definitely tea. Better yet is Kombucha, a fermented tea.

6 thoughts on “Actually Finishing Something [in] July: Week One

  1. Effy says:

    Tea or coffee? Now that is a strange ending to those questions ! 🙂
    (Although I do know why: Which one keeps you awake at all hours of the night so you can write? He he he. 🙂

  2. nate65 says:

    Sounds great. 🙂 And it was nice to see a little snippet from “Be Thou My Vision”. 😉 Keep up the good work.

    • Faith Blum says:

      Thank you! The hard part about the snippet was that most of page six was full of spoilers for those who haven’t read “A Mighty Fortress”. I’m glad you enjoyed the snippet. 😀

  3. Bethy says:

    Oh these sound fantastic! For some reason, Be Thou My Vision reminds me of the feel of Christy. They’re nothing alike but that’s what it made me think of! 🙂 I love that the titles are titles of hymns!

Leave a Reply

