Writing Update and a Blog Update

Writing Update

My original goal for my third draft of A Mighty Fortress was to get past the 50,000 word mark.  I surpassed that goal long ago and am now standing strong at almost 61,000 words.  At this time, when I have my book formatted into 5″ x 8″ pages there are over 250 pages.  I was pleasantly surprised when I realized this.  

As an update, I have received most of the feedback from my test readers and am now implementing some of their suggestions.  Perhaps I will reach the 62,000 word mark with some of the further edits.  We shall see.

Blog Update

Check out my Works in Progress page above and to the left.  I just updated it with a new summary of A Mighty Fortress as well as a progress update for both A Mighty Fortress and Be Thou My Vision.  I would love to hear your thoughts on the page.

In closing, I will leave you with an excerpt from chapter three of A Mighty Fortress:

David and Matthew lifted the trunk on top of the stagecoach.  Was it really possible that they could be leaving?  To Joshua it seemed like the most wonderful dream ever.  Everything was packed, the family was all there to see him and Ruth off, everything seemed perfect.  Except for the fact that they would be leaving so many friends and family members behind.  

Their parents had finally been able to save enough money to start building their lifelong dream: a cattle ranch out West.  The only regret Daniel and Harriet Brookings had that they couldn’t bring all of their children with them.  The family had always been so close, not just in proximity, but in friendship.  Joshua knew their parting would be hardest on Ruth.  She was shy and did not make friends easily.  Her best friends were her sisters, Esther and Martha.

Esther gave Joshua a big hug.  “Take care of our little sister, Joshua.”

Martha’s eyes were full of tears.  “Joshua, you are her only protector out there until you get to Pa and Ma.  Keep her safe.”

Joshua nodded and swallowed hard as tears threatened to spring to his eyes.  “With God’s help, I will.”

Leave a Reply

