November Craziness

I am (kind of) joining hundreds, if not thousands, of other authors this month in a quest to do the seemingly impossible.  In certain circles, November is called National Novel Writing Month, a.k.a NaNoWriMo or NaNo.  The challenge is to write 50,000 words of a book not yet started in 30 days.

quill-pen

I am being a rebel by making my own goal and working on a book that I already had around halfway finished.  My goal is 25,000 words (or until I reach the end of the book, whichever comes first), and I am working on the sequel to A Mighty Fortress.

There are eight big reasons for having a shorter goal:

  1. My little brother has a birthday on Wednesday.  (I can’t believe he will be 3 already!)
  2. My mom has a birthday.
  3. 6 days later, my dad has a birthday.
  4. Thanksgiving Day is always spent with family.
  5. I do little or no writing on Tuesdays because it is a crazy, busy, and long day.
  6. I still have responsibilities at home.
  7. I like to sleep at least 5 hours every night and I barely do that in a normal month.
  8. I will be spending a lot of time organizing marketing ideas and promoting my book, A Mighty Fortress.

There you have my reasons for having half the goal of the official NaNo goal.  Now for my reasons to do NaNo in the first place.

  1. Extra motivation to get a first draft of Be Thou My Vision finished.
  2. Something to do while I wait impatiently for my proof copy of A Mighty Fortress to come in.
  3. I have always wanted to do NaNo, but with 3 birthdays, plus Thanksgiving, plus life in general I haven’t ever thought I would be able to try.
  4. I really, really, really want to get Be Thou My Vision rough draft finished.

Now to ask you a question.  🙂  Are you doing NaNoWriMo?  If so, what are you writing?

Leave a Reply

