An Ever-Present Help in Trouble

First of all, I would like to apologize for not posting the next character interview.  I intended to do that on Friday night once I had finished the hallway flooring.  That never happened due to the hammer mistaking my finger for the block it was supposed to be hitting.  Thus, I was in a lot of pain all night and most of the next two days.  So, the next character, Miles Jenkins shall wait until this coming Friday.  In the meantime, my injury has turned into a helpful illustration for this inspirational post about God’s abundant availability.

Psalm 46.1-3

 

Last Sunday, our pastor preached on Psalm 46.  It was a great encouragement to me and I wanted to share some of the points he made.

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change
And though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea;
Though its waters roar and foam,
Though the mountains quake at its swelling pride.      Selah.

Another way to translate “very present” is “abundantly available.”  So, to paraphrase, “God is abundantly available when we are in trouble.  Therefore, we will not fear-because God is with is and is our refuge and strength.”

No matter what our circumstances are (smashed fingers included), God is with us when we most need Him.  In my case on Friday, His presence came in many different ways.  For one thing, I was almost finished with the flooring, so Dad only has one hard row and a few easy rows to put in in order to finish it.  Another way I saw His presence was that it happened on a row when I needed Mom’s help so she was there to help me stop the bleeding and get it bandaged up with Lydia’s healing salve.   Even my three year old brother was used by God to help me.  When I rebandaged my finger, he helped me open the bandaids.

I have truly realized that without the presence of God, nothing will be accomplished that is of any worth and that in Christ, we can look past our circumstances and look toward God as our abundantly available help in trouble.

The most fascinating thing to realize about this Psalm is that it is part of a common theme woven throughout the entire Bible.  Hebrews 13:5b-6 says,

“I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you,” so that we confidently say,

“The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid.
What will man do to me?”

Not only is God abundantly available, but He will also never desert you, nor forsake you.  Wow.

There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
The holy dwelling places of the Most High.
God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved;
God will help her when morning dawns.
The nations made an uproar, the kingdoms tottered;
He raised His voice, the earth melted.
The Lord of hosts is with us;
The God of Jacob is our stronghold.      Selah.

Forces of nature or threatening governments ought not to worry God’s children.  Those who are Christians need not to be afraid because God is with them.  If it is God’s will for you to die, you have the peace of knowing that God Almighty will take you to heaven to live forever with Him.  He is our stronghold who will keep us safe and secure though the nations roar and kingdoms totter.

Come, behold the works of the Lord,
Who has wrought desolations in the earth.
He makes wars to cease to the end of the earth;
He breaks the bow and cuts the spear in two;
He burns the chariots with fire.

The Psalmist tells us to behold the works of the Lord.  So what has God done in the past?

  • God used a worldwide, catastrophic flood to bring about His righteous judgment (Genesis 6-9)
  • He defeated the mighty Midianite army with just 300 men (Judges 8)
  • Parted the Red Sea (Exodus 14:13-30)
  • Established Kings and Kingdoms (1 Samuel-Malachi)
  • Caused Kingdoms to fall (Genesis-Revelation)
  • Sent His son to die as our substitute (2 Corinthians 5:21)
  • Raised His Son back from the dead on the third day (1 Corinthians 15:3-6)

What a mighty God we serve!

“Cease striving and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”
The Lord of hosts is with us;
The God of Jacob is our stronghold.      Selah.

How should we respond?  When everything comes to its conclusion in the Last Days, God will be exalted.  “…every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” (Philippians 2:11)

Praise the Lord for always being abundantly available and for never leaving, nor forsaking us.

One thought on “An Ever-Present Help in Trouble

  1. […] An Ever-Present Help in Trouble (faithblum.wordpress.com) No matter what our circumstances are (smashed fingers included), God is with us when we most need Him. + I have truly realized that without the presence of God, nothing will be accomplished that is of any worth and that in Christ, we can look past our circumstances and look toward God as our abundantly available help in trouble. […]

Leave a Reply

