God’s Amazing Grace

AG Blog Tour Graphic

This year as I have been preparing my book for publication, I have learned a lot about God’s grace. It’s amazing how when you are learning something in one area of life, it keeps popping up everywhere. Every sermon you listen to seems to talk about it, every Bible class, a lot of the books you read, all of them seem to talk about the same thing. Do you ever get the feeling that God is trying to hit you over the head with certain lessons sometimes?

Although I didn’t necessarily see it as I went through my year, I have seen it as I look back. The end of December and beginning of January were hard. I had one book I was supposed to be editing and another I was supposed to be writing. And I couldn’t do anything either editing or writing. It was awful.

As I look back on that time, I see God’s grace. My goal before that was to release Amazing Grace on AGValentine’s Day. Guess what? That didn’t happen. My book wasn’t ready. There were scenes missing that had to be added and my book is now so much more complete than it would have if I had left it with the Valentine’s Day release. God graciously gave me writer’s and editor’s block for two weeks so I couldn’t rush my book to publication.

As you might expect of a book called Amazing Grace, the characters also learn about the grace of God. I wish I could share more about that, but it would spoil most of the book for you. You’ll just have to get the book to find out how. *hint, hint* 😉

So, maybe you’re new to my series. If so, please read on and I’ll have more information about all of my books. If you aren’t, what are you waiting for? You can order Amazing Grace on Amazon Kindle for $3.99 or preorder a signed paperback for $11.00 + shipping on my website.

7999012_orig

And of course, what would a book release be without a blog tour. I have a super exciting line up of blogs set up. For the full schedule either click here or scroll up and on the left is a lovely new page called “Amazing Grace Blog Tour.” The blog tour is from today all the way through July 2nd with one post every Monday and Thursday. There will be author interviews, character interviews, character spotlights, info about my books, and my personal favorite, a cover reveal for my upcoming novellas!!!

Excerpt


Caleb tapped his fingers on the arm of the chair, staring out the dark window. There had to be something to do. Anna was in her room reading her Bible again. Or maybe she was scheming to marry him off to some simpering young female from church. He grimaced. He’d seen them enough to know none of those women were for him. All the women in town and on nearby farms were either too young, already married, or had too many children. He knew he was being picky, but he wanted a woman his own age with one or two children at the most. He wasn’t much of a family man and didn’t intend to change his mind. He wasn’t sure he wanted to get married.

With a shake of his head, Caleb picked up the newspaper Anna had brought from town and absently read the headlines. Nothing interesting there. Since he had nothing else to do, he decided to flip through the advertisements. Horses dominated the page, but way toward the bottom there was a different set of advertisements.

“Mail Order bride seeks wealthy Western man. Write Mona Sommers, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.”

“Hi, I’m Abigail Simmons. I’m 19 and there aren’t any young men here due to the War. I am looking for a God-fearing husband who will care for me just as I am. I am not plain, but I do limp from a childhood fall. I would also be bringing my little sister, 5, with me since my parents are dead. If interested, please write to me in Richmond, Virginia.”

The next, and last ad, caught his attention. He wasn’t sure if it was because of the age of the woman, the daughter she mentioned, or the fact the woman made her situation sound almost desperate.

“Widow seeking God-fearing husband. 30 with daughter, 10. Write Maggie McDougall, Wheeling, OH.”

Caleb leaned back in the chair, letting the paper fall limp in his hands. He stared into space for a long time. When the candle sputtered, he shook himself and took the advertisement section out from the rest of the paper. He put the paper back where it had been before and carried the advertisement sheet to his room. He would decide what to do in the morning.


 

Barn Dance (AKA, Facebook Party)

The line up

On Friday, I am also hosting a Barn Dance (also known as a Facebook party) on Facebook! On May 1st from 10-2:30 (Central Time), there will be a total of eight talented authors plus myself! There will be giveaways, fun games, excerpts, and whatever else we come up with. I think it’s going to be awesome! If you would like to join us, please check out the event page. If you haven’t already been invited, due to a goof-up when I set up the event, you won’t probably be able to see much. If you are a friend of mine on Facebook, you’ve been invited already. If you aren’t, please feel free to request friendship and I’ll invite you to the dance right away as well. Sorry for the inconvenience of that.

The Hymns of the West Series

Hymns of the West Cover

One thing about my books is that they can all be read as standalones. However, you will definitely get a more complete picture of each story if you read all the books, especially Be Thou My Vision and Amazing Grace. Although they can both be read as standalones, I highly recommend reading Be Thou My Vision first and that isn’t just because I want to sell more books, it’s also the recommendation I have received from others who have read Amazing Grace before reading Be Thou My Vision.

For those who know nothing about my books, or would like a refresher, here are the descriptions of each book.

A Mighty Fortress

3D A Mighty Fortress“Stay back!” Joshua ordered. He kept his eyes on the scene below while waving his arm in Ruth’s direction. “Get deeper into the woods and stay down low to the ground.”

Joshua hazarded a glance behind him. He could no longer see Ruth and breathed a sigh of relief. In one swift move, he grabbed his rifle and lay flat to the ground. Extending the rifle, he aimed at the shorter man whose gun was pointed at Bradshaw.

 Joshua and Ruth Brookings are traveling by stagecoach to finally join their parents in Montana. Attacked by murderous outlaws, the teens barely escape with their lives and must survive in the barren Wyoming and Montana territories and escape the man who’s hunting them.

Seven years ago, Jed Stuart ran away from home and joined Tom’s gang. Jed is tired of the lawlessness and wants out. The only problem? He is the boss’s right-hand man and will never be able to leave. And what’s one more stagecoach robbery, anyway?

Can Joshua lean on God’s strength to keep himself and his sister alive until they find a town?   Will Jed be able to face his anger or will it consume him completely? All three are running–the hunter and hunted. What will happen when they meet?

Be Thou My Vision

The church was empty when I dragged myself out of the pew and headed out the door. As I openedBTMV the door, the corner of my eye caught a flicker of movement which I chose to ignore. I walked down the steps and was nearly bowled over by two wild boys. With arms grown strong and quick from man-handling two brothers growing up, I grabbed the two boys before they had a chance to escape me.

 Anna Stuart is comfortable with her life. She may be a 30 year old spinster, but she has her routine and enjoys taking care of her father and older brother. One letter shatters all her routines, comfort, and enjoyment. After learning of her brother’s death, Anna feels like her life will never be the same again.

Then she meets two motherless boys. Did God place them in her life to lead her to a new vision of life? Can she trust God to give her the desires of her heart before she even knows what they are?

Amazing Grace

AGCaleb hurried to the post office. He had to get in and out before his sister finished at the general store. “Any mail for the Stuarts?” he asked the postmaster.

The postmaster took a lazy look at him over the top of his eyeglasses and gave a heaving sigh as he turned around to check. “Yep. Somethin’ from Ohio and somethin’ from Montana.”

Tapping his foot, Caleb waited until the large man put the letters lazily in his hand. As he left he wondered why Anna had written someone in Montana and who she knew in Montana. It was really none of his business, but he was still curious. He folded the Ohio letter in half and stashed it in his back pocket. It would get wrinkled, but at least Anna wouldn’t know about it.

 As Caleb struggles through some inner battles, he secretly starts a correspondence with a widow and her daughter. Their unabashed faith in God convicts him and increases his inner struggles.

Unable to find a steady job, Maggie places an advertisement to become a mail-order bride. Her daughter, Rachel, is her motivation and encouragement, but if Maggie doesn’t find a job or husband soon, Rachel might not survive through the next year.

Can Caleb learn to trust God despite his past? Can Maggie and Rachel hold onto their faith despite all their trials? What will happen when they meet in person?

About the Author

Faith with Rikki-croppedAn avid reader, Faith Blum started writing at an early age. Whether it was a story about the camping trip that summer or a more creative story about fictional characters, she has always enjoyed writing. When not writing, Miss Blum enjoys reading, crafting, playing piano, Captaining on the Holy Worlds Historical Fiction Forum and playing games with her family (canasta, anyone?).

As a history enthusiast who has been fascinated for years with the Old West, Faith has endeavored to create a clean, fun, and challenging Western story. Faith lives with her family on a hobby farm in the Northern Midwest, where she enjoys the many cats they have.

You can find Faith on her Website, Blog, Facebook, and Twitter

Leave a Reply

