Today dawn’s a new day

Picture22Wow. The last four weeks have been a whirlwind and very different. First, I published Amazing Grace on Kindle, then I finished the rough draft of Lily of the Valley and the editing of I Love Thee, next I had problems with the paperback for Amazing Grace. Through all of this, I resigned from my job, giving my boss a four week notice.

Yesterday was my last day working there and today is my first day of being home full-time to write full-time. It’s an exciting time and I am so thankful to have a supportive family. Without them, I wouldn’t be able to do this at all. So, thank you Dad, Mom, Lydia, Naomi, and Seth!

I’m really looking forward to what God has planned for me, but I also know I’m going to need accountability and support. If you would like to help hold me accountable, please email, Facebook message, or call me (if you have my phone number) and I would love to talk with you to figure out a way for you to hold me accountable. If you would simply like to support me you can either send me money (just kidding!), pray for me (requests listed below), or send me an encouraging note somehow at various times. Thank you!

Prayer Requests:

  • Self-discipline–as I figure out a schedule, I need to actually stick to it. And not hop onto the internet too often
  • Motivation
  • That I will write only what God wants me to write
  • Anything else you can think of to pray for me

Other News

In other news, I now have my copies of Amazing Grace!! So if anybody would like a signed copy, just let me know, send me $15.50 and I’ll get it shipped off to you ASAP. 😀 I’m also planning a Goodreads giveaway soon if you can’t afford $15.50 right now.

May AMF Free PromoIf you haven’t had a chance to read A Mighty Fortress yet, you can get it for free May 18-22.

I’m also planning to do a blog series in June sometime about my journey through self-publishing, so be on the look out for that if you are interested.

I can’t think of any other news y’all need to know right now, so I guess I end this post with a short, sneak peek excerpt from Lily of the Valley.

Dear Diary,

The good part about living in town is I get to see Annabelle more often. The bad part is I don’t get to see Mother and Father or talk to them and I’ve noticed that I’m more paranoid. I know Castle City (I actually remembered to call it that this time!) is more civilized and I trust Micah and Obadiah to keep everybody safe, but there are still rough men around and many of them go to the saloons. Lord, help me to trust You!

On another note, I’ve discovered it is really hard to cook for just one person. I don’t think I’ve ever cooked for fewer than five people except when Joshua and I got stranded in the wilderness. But that doesn’t count since we didn’t even have much food to cook with.

I’ve taught for two weeks now and I think it’s going well. I also had an idea on what to do with my extra food. The Larson children rarely have food to bring for lunch because Mr. Larson is out of a job and they don’t have money for food. I’m going to bring some of my extra food tomorrow to give to them.

Oops, it’s time for me to go get the schoolhouse ready.

Your friend, Ruth

Leave a Reply

