Shadow on the Mountain: A review

Shadow on the Mountain

Introduction:

When I first received this book, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I certainly didn’t expect this. “Shadow of the Mountain” was insightful, interesting, and made me think about parts of the Exodus story in a very different light.

Characters: .75/1

I loved how Cliff brought in so many different well known characters, but little mentioned, from the Bible to fit into the story. Characters like Othniel, Joshua, and others whose names escape me. It was sometimes hard to understand the motivation of some of the characters, but otherwise, the character development was great.

Dialogue: .75/1

There were times in the story when it was hard to differentiate between narrative and dialogue. The dialogue between Caleb and Othniel, however, was often hilarious.

Plot/storyline: 1/1

I had never even realized that Caleb wasn’t originally a Hebrew. The angle Cliff took with Caleb’s story was fascinating and interesting. He never let up on the suspense, but that was okay because he didn’t overdo it, either.

Over-all writing quality: 1/1

The writing never drew me out of the story, and neither did any typos. This is rare and I applaud the author.

Un-put-down-ability: 1/1

There were a few times when the story was familiar and I just put the book down because I needed a break, but otherwise, it was hard to put down.

Conclusion: 4.5/5

If you enjoy reading Lois Henderson’s books about the women of the Bible, but would like to read about some of the men of the Bible, try Cliff Graham’s “Shadow of the Mountain.” I’ve read both authors and so far, I prefer Cliff’s.

 

Note: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All comments are my own.

2 thoughts on “Shadow on the Mountain: A review

  1. Rachel says:

    Great review. I like your point style with it. The book sounds interesting enough… I might have to look it up sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

