Coming Home Again: A review

About the Book

I’ve lost myself. Where did I go? Can I find myself? I just don’t know…
Savannah Monroe dances with demons from a complicated past.
Families believe ghosts can be well hidden deep in the ancestral closet, but forget all too easily that those ghosts haunt with abandon. Savannah has to face each one of hers as she heads home again to Bay Creek, South Carolina, after running away over five years ago. The closer she gets to home, the clearer the realization becomes that some skeletons need to be dealt with and properly buried.
Mature content due to subject matter dealing with rape.

Book Review

Introduction:

Savannah is a troubled young woman trying to find her way through her horrific past. At times, the content was disturbing, but only detailed and a little more graphic than I would have liked in one instance. The first couple chapters are hard to read as we get to know Savannah in a personal way. The book is written in first person and is basically just Savannah telling the story as the thoughts randomly come to her head. Different, but very effective.

Characters: 1/1

The bad guys were super creepy and/or cruel, but also had some good points (very, very few) and a little humanity. Lucas… What is there to say about him? He’s wonderful and I wish he were real. Savannah is troubled, but has morals, and learns and grows through her experiences. Eventually.

Dialogue: 1/1

The dialogue was good. There wasn’t a lot of it, but when people were talking, you could tell who was talking.

Plot/storyline: .75/1

The only reason this doesn’t get a full star is because the content is disturbing and there is one spot that is a little more graphic than I cared to read. Savannah did warn the reader, but it was too hard not to skim to not miss what happened. Other than that, it was a good plot and storyline.

Over-all writing quality: 1/1

The writing quality was very good. I did find a couple of minor typos, but otherwise, it was clean grammatically and spelling-wise. I also didn’t have to re-read any parts of the book to try to decipher what the author was trying to say.

Un-put-down-ability: .75/1

I had to put the book down a few times due to the heavy content in it. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have put it down.

Conclusion: 4.5/5

If you can handle the Amazon sample, and the heavy content of this book, I think it would be a good read for you. This is not a happy-go-lucky book. It is downright depressing in spots. There are parts that will make you cringe, other parts that will make you cry, and very few parts that will make you laugh. All that aside, the book was worth it for the ending and I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series. Speaking of which, this book is part of a series, but I don’t feel like I have to read the second book. Coming Home Again does not have a cliff-hanger ending and only a couple of minor sub-plots are left slightly hanging.

One thought on “Coming Home Again: A review

  1. […] reading the first book of the series, Coming Home Again, and reviewing it, the author contacted me and asked if I would proofread the sequel. I was more […]

Leave a Reply

