Taking a deep breath

fountain-pen-447576_1920November is over and December is already almost halfway done. Where does time fly? I don’t remember if I mentioned it on here or not, but I did NaNoWriMo again this year. And won with just over 60,000 words. I did not write a novel, however. I finished one novella and wrote two others. I am very excited for all of these novellas.

As December rolled in, I felt kind of tired. Not surprising considering everything happening in November: three family birthdays, Thanksgiving, a book release, and NaNo. I decided to start doing some editing of the novellas I had written to go along with Lily of the Valley. My heart just wasn’t in them. So I decided to take a little time to take a deep breath and re-evaluate.

During my evaluation, I made a few decisions.

  1. There will be no novellas to go with Lily of the Valley.
  2. One of my novellas will be part of a spin-off series (trilogy) about orphans and will feature Ruth Brookings as a minor character.
  3. The other novella I wrote may or may not see the publishing light in the future. We’ll see.
  4. I now have tentative titles for two of the three novellas that will go with The Solid Rock, as well as tentative titles for my upcoming contemporary trilogy.
  5. I started editing The Solid Rock and have a tentative publication date of April 26, 2016.
  6. My three novellas, I Love Thee, Pass Me Not, and Redeemed are currently in the process of becoming an omnibus (combined) edition that will be published in both ebook and paperback forms on January 26,  2016 under the title Life and Salvation: Hymns of the West Novellas #1-3.

And since I’m editing The Solid Rock, I’ll leave you with a snippet from the book. If you’d like to beta-read my book, please go to this form and sign up. You have to have had some experience beta-reading to be on my beta-reading team. Enjoy the excerpt!


 

Very rough mock up that will probably change completely by publication.

Very rough mock up that will probably change completely by publication.

Joshua pushed the door open and breathed deeply. “There’s nothing like the distinct odor of men slaving away in a confined place mixed with rotting coffee grounds and ink.”

“You always make it sound so pleasant,” Paul Greene said, an amused smile on his face. “Mr. Pinkerton will be with you in a moment.”

A tall man stepped out of the door behind the secretary. “Actually, he’ll be here right now. Come with me, Joshua.”

Joshua nodded to the secretary and followed Robert Pinkerton into his office.

“I have a case for you. I believe it will fit with your moral objections as well as your skill set.”

Joshua raised an eyebrow. “What is it?”

“We have an agent in Cheyenne, Wyoming who has been investigating some strange events for more than ten years now. He is close to the end and has been kidnapped.

Joshua leaned forward. “How long ago?”

“He was kidnapped yesterday. His daughter sent us a telegram.”

“Why me?”

Robert smiled. This was one reason he loved working with Joshua. “You know the area better than most agents and you have been quite successful tracking down criminals on fairly cold trails. You read fast and think well on your feet. I can also trust you not to flirt with Mr. Harris’ daughter. I hear she’s young, unmarried, and quite lovely.”

Joshua’s head jerked up from his examination of the Oriental rug. “Harris? Would the daughter’s name be Elizabeth?”

Robert shuffled a few papers on his desk and skimmed one. “Yes, it is. How did you know?”

“We met about four years ago when I was the sheriff in Cartersville. Is there anything else I need to know?”

Robert skimmed the papers in from of him. “That’s all I know. Knowing Edward Harris, he’ll have kept notes of his investigation and hidden them well.”

Joshua nodded with a smile. “I can see him doing that.”

Robert stood up and Joshua followed suit. They shook hands. “Good luck to you and Godspeed.”

“Thank you,” Joshua replied.

Leave a Reply

