Project 74: a Review

Introduction:

I’ve read Aubrey’s first science fiction novella, Red Rain and a few little snippets of her upcoming novel, Unaccepted before, so getting to read this prequel novella was a real treat. It was really great to get the perspective of what happened before Red Rain happened and now I want to go back and read that book again.

Characters: 1/1

Ephesus, Dr. Nic, and Cea were great! I loved getting to know them better and in a different way. The portrayal of Dr. Nic as the villain was perfect. He had some really good traits and some…really not so good traits. Ephesus, the protagonist also had good and bad traits, though his were mostly good. I did feel like it could have been a little longer so we could maybe get a little more insight into each character just a touch more, but it wasn’t enough to give this less than five stars.

Dialogue: 1/1

The dialogue was snappy, perfect for each character, and I believe true to what might be spoken in the future.

Plot/storyline: 1/1

As I mentioned under characters, it could have been just a little longer, but otherwise the plot and storyline was great! There was one section that confused me slightly, but not enough to draw me out of the book for long.

Over-all writing quality: 1/1

The writing was great! It’s not often I don’t find at least one grammar or spelling error, but I can’t recall a single one. The writing style worked well with the book, too.

Un-put-down-ability: 1/1

I did read this book while I was not feeling well, so that aided my not having to put the book down at all, but even if I had been 100%, I don’t think I would have put it down before I finished reading. I wanted to know what happened! Even though I already knew since I had read the sequel before.

Conclusion: 5/5

Even if you don’t usually like sci-fi (like me), this book is great! It talks about the future when Christians are persecuted and I really think this book could help be an encouragement to those struggling with standing up for their beliefs.

 

Note: I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

