Befriending the Beast

My friend, Amanda Tero, has written a retelling of the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale. I haven’t read it yet, but will be soon. It sounds amazing and the cover looks great, too!

Befriending the Beast

About the Book

Belle has returned unannounced to the castle to restore her relationship with the king, her father. Her hopes are dashed with the devastating message: “The king refuses to see you.” Convinced that God has led her home, she is unwilling to return to Lord and Lady Kiralyn.

Time is running out for the decision that will change her life. When tragedy strikes, will she and her father be pulled further apart or knit together? Could she stay at the castle even if she will never see her father again?

Release date: September 30, 2016

 About the Author

Amanda bio picAmanda Tero is a homeschool graduate who desires to provide God-honoring, family-friendly reading material. She has enjoyed writing since before ten years old, but it has only been since 2013 that she began seriously pursuing writing again – starting with some short stories that she wrote for her sisters as a gift. Her mom encouraged her to try selling the stories she published, and since then, she has begun actively writing short stories, novellas, and novels. If something she has written draws an individual into a deeper relationship with Jesus Christ, it is worth it!

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding.” (Proverbs 3:5)

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Blog | Goodreads | Amazon

Author Interview

Banner 01

Good morning and welcome to my blog! I’m excited to have you here and hope you have some fun with these questions. Since this blog is about and for writers, most of the questions will be about writing with a few optional, fun questions at the end.

  1. What is your writing process? Do you outline before you start?

I usually have a pretty solid idea of the general outline before I start. But my outline usually looks like a Word document with random scenes — just place in order. I’m not into big planning, because as I write, different characters or scenes might change and lead me to something juicier than what I originally had. 🙂

  1. How do you develop your characters? Do you use images found online, a Pinterest board, character sketches, or develop them as you write?

Usually, I develop my characters as I write (and keep a Word document with their individuality as I write so I don’t forget anything!). Here recently, though, I’ve been trying to develop more complex characters so I have used some character sketches (they can’t be too complex because of how I write; I develop and change things as I go). Since I’m not very natural at description, I have found Pinterest very helpful in finding characters to match my ideas. Plus, it’s just fun. 😉

  1. What is your best advice for getting rid of writer’s block?

Pray. Read good books. And, in most cases, still write. Usually, when I find it hard to write, if I spend a few days of, “Just write 100 words a day,” it helps me to work through the writers’ block.

  1. If you could share one piece of advice that you wish someone else had told you to an aspiring writer, what would it be?

Be sure you’re seeking and following God as you write. It is easy to get swept into “what’s popular,” but what’s most important is pleasing the Lord with your writing.

  1. What is your favorite genre?

Historical Fiction — which is a broad genre as I like from earlier years to later.

Fun (optional) questions:

Pizza or Pasta?

Pizza!

Favorite movie?

Um… it kind of changes. I really like the Kendrick Brothers’ films as well as some sappy Hallmarks. Nothing really stands out as one favorite.

Favorite Bible verse?

Proverbs 3:5-7

Coffee, tea, or water?

Water.

Favorite movie adaptation?

Emma (2009)

 Book Trailer

 

 Influencer

Amanda is still accepting influencers for Befriending the Beast! If you’d like to be a part of her blog tour or would like to receive a book to review, sign up here: https://goo.gl/forms/yBX6XXRiewPuygCf1

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Befriending the Beast

  1. amandatero says:

    Thanks for featuring my cover reveal AND the fun interview, Faith! I greatly appreciate your support! 🙂 ❤

  2. This looks really amazing, Amanda! I’m going to add it to my reading list now. What a unique idea.

Leave a Reply

