5 Secrets of Story Structure: A Review

41nogsk4kil

Introduction:

Structured story plots have been a problem for me in the past, but I never knew what to do about it, so I just kept plugging along. Then I came across this book and will not have that problem any more (as long as I follow the tips I read about).

Clarity: 1/1

K.M. Weiland always does a great job explaining things clearly and concisely. This book is no exception.

Usability: 1/1

I’ve already started using it. I started using the tips the day I started reading it, actually. I had just started outlining a new book and this book helped me outline it in a way that followed the proper story structure. Now I’m even more excited than before to start writing!

Readability: 1/1

K.M. Weiland started out with a summary of each point in the story structure and then had a few chapters that had more detail about each act. This made the book very readable as terms were explained first and then described later.

Overall writing quality: 1/1

The writing quality was great! I didn’t find any typos and each word was obviously chosen with care.

Un-put-down-ability: 1/1

After reading half of the first chapter, I ended up setting the book aside for about a week due to busyness and illness, but when I picked it up again, I couldn’t put it down.

Conclusion: 5/5

Even if you think you know how to structure your story, I think this is a must-read for every writer. It’s short, easy to read, and you might just pick up a tip or two or ten. What’s a little over an hour out of your day if it helps make you a better writer?

8 thoughts on “5 Secrets of Story Structure: A Review

  1. Faith Potts says:

    I found this book to be very helpful too. πŸ™‚

  2. Kellyn Roth says:

    When I first read this book, I was in shock! I couldn’t believe I’d been missing so much for so long! πŸ˜€

  3. Phoebe Knapp says:

    Did you find any language in it? Language as in swear words or borderline slang. Do you think it is appropriate for all ages?

    • Faith Blum says:

      There was no language and no borderline slang. I do believe it is appropriate for all ages, though really young children wouldn’t understand it. πŸ™‚

  4. […] 2 Writing books (Done! Mostly. I read and reviewed one and started […]

  5. […] Structured story plots have been a problem for me in the past, but I never knew what to do about it, so I just kept plugging along. Then I came across this book and will not have that problem any more (as long as I follow the tips I read about). (Read the full review here). […]

Leave a Reply

