Book Review: Season of Joy

Title: Season of Joy
Written By: Alexa Verde
Genre: Christian Contemporary Romance
Recommended Ages: 15 & up

Introduction:

Joy loves to travel. She loves the adventure, writing up articles, and the exotic places she gets to visit. But is she just running away from things? She can’t keep a steady relationship. She doesn’t think men really like her because she isn’t super thin. And she lost her one true love shortly after high school when he married someone else.

Characters: 1/1

The characters were unique, fun, zany, and well-developed. I loved how she portrayed the various nuances of hurting people.

Dialogue: 1/1

The dialogue all seemed very realistic to the time period, geography, and each individual person. I especially loved Travis!

Plot/storyline: .5/1

The plot was good, though many times predictable. All the mishaps that happened got to be a little annoying after a while. I loved the ending!

Overall writing quality: 1/1

I did find a couple of minor typos, but otherwise, the writing was engaging, well done, and it certainly kept me on my toes. I loved how Alexa put God, the Bible, and Christianity into the story without it feeling preachy or pushy.

Un-put-down-ability: .75/1

I didn’t ever really want to put the book down, but I of course had to.

Conclusion: 4.25/5

Though this book is set mostly around Christmas time, it can be read all year round. Being from Wisconsin, I kept forgetting it was set around Christmas because they were going to the beach, grilling outside, etc. In Wisconsin you wouldn’t want to do any of those things at Christmas time. If you like sweet romances, you will like this book.

Leave a comment