3 Writing Books

Welcome to the 3-2-1 Write! Blog Party! When Rebekah and Kate asked me to join, I was super excited because this theme is right up my alley. I hope you enjoy the party as much as I do.

Day 1What is the party? Me and five other authors are partnering together to share our 3 favorite writing books, 2 pieces of advice, and 1 favorite writing tool. We’re also doing a couple of giveaways. The grand prize winner gets a paperback copy of The Emotion Thesaurus and a $5 Amazon gift card. Then there will be 6 other prizes given out. One commenter from each blog will be chosen to receive an eBook compiled by Rebekah Morris and Kate Willis. You can enter the grand prize giveaway here. When you enter you get the chance to win a great prize package:

  • Paper copy of The Emotion Thesaurus
  • $5.00 Amazon Gift Card
  • Free Cover Design by Victoria Lynn
  • $30 Blog Tour Orchestration by Faith Blum
  • Free Edit of up to 5,000 words by Erika Mathews

And now on to my…

Top 3 Writing Books

If you’ve followed my blog at all the last 6 months, you’ll know I’ve tried to read and review some writing books. It’s been a great learning experience. And I do have three I liked above the others so far. In order of preference they are.

#1: Outlining Your Novel

Outlining Your Novel.jpgI got this book for a birthday or Christmas present 2016 and finally got around to reading it in October 2017. Now I wish I had read it sooner. It helped me tremendously. As I read the book, I did the checklist at the end of each chapter for the novella I planned to write in November 2017. Originally, I thought it would take me the whole month to write the novella, but because of the steps I took using the tips in this book, I wrote all 23,183 words in just 17 days! (Read the full review and interview with the author here).

#2: 112 Christian Authors and Publishing Professionals Share Their Best Advice for Novelists

51v69gdcoll-_sy346_Besides the insanely long title, this book is great! If you write Christian books, even if you aren’t published yet, you need to read this book and keep it handy. I started reading it because my writing was discouraging me and I didn’t have anything else along to do. By the time I read about 5 of the short essays, I was ready to write again. (Read the full review here).

#3: 5 Secrets of Story Structure

41nogsk4kilStructured story plots have been a problem for me in the past, but I never knew what to do about it, so I just kept plugging along. Then I came across this book and will not have that problem any more (as long as I follow the tips I read about). (Read the full review here).

What’s a favorite writing book of yours?

Another fun thing we’re doing for the blog party is a quote trail. If you visit each blog, you will find three words on each and when you put them all together, it creates an entire quote. Once you gather the full quote, you can put it in the correct spot in the giveaway widget for another entry.

Here is my part of the quote: of books we

And you can continue on by clicking on the blog button below:

Day 1 blog button

Save

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “3 Writing Books

  1. Thank you for sharing these books!

  2. Rebekah A. Morris says:

    I don’t think I’ve read any of these books. I know I read one by K.M. Weiland, but I can’t remember if it was Outlining or Structuring. It might have been Outlining.
    Thanks for sharing, and I’m looking forward to seeing what else you share during the party! 🙂

    • Faith Blum says:

      I’ve read both, but found Outlining to be the most practical and helpful. You’re welcome!

      • Rebekah A. Morris says:

        I think it might have been Outlining, but as I don’t outline, I didn’t find much help in it. But I want to try her 5 Secrets book and see what that’s like.

      • Faith Blum says:

        I don’t really outline, either, or at least I didn’t, but I still found it helpful. The 5 Secrets book is really good, too!

    • Hannah says:

      Rebekah, I believe it was Outlining your Novel that you read. I think you borrowed it from me, didn’t you? I love that one!

      • Rebekah A. Morris says:

        I know I borrowed it from you, Hannah, I just couldn’t remember which one it was. 🙂

  3. I haven’t read any of KM Weilands books, but I read her blog every time she posts and have for years. I started one of her books recently, It was the one on Character Development, but I am finding it rather technical and difficult to read for me. #2 sounds super interesting! I must read it! Thank you for the recommendations!

    • Faith Blum says:

      I haven’t read the one on Character Development yet, but I hope to soon. I didn’t find Outlining Your Novel too technical, but perhaps I have a technical brain. Book #2 is interesting! You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

