When the Writing Gets Tough…

…the tough get writing.

That’s the way the saying goes, isn’t it? Okay, maybe not, but it still applies in my mind. Some people think writers have the easiest job in the world. They get to do something they love with little to no effort and just publish books and make some money.

*insert annoying wrong buzzer from random game show*

Nothing could be further from the truth. Well, maybe I shouldn’t go that far, but a career in writing, or even a side job in writing, isn’t a bed of roses. Unless those roses still have the thorns on them.

Yes, sometimes writing is easy. Other times it is really hard. The characters stop talking to each other, you, etc. They misbehave and do off-the-wall things. The plot goes haywire. Life happens and writing goes by the wayside for a while or you can only eke out 50 words per day instead of the 1-5K you are used to. The book is finished and needs to be edited. Over and over and over and over again.

So what’s a writer to do when it’s those things happen? Just keep writing. Like Dory in Finding Nemo. Only instead of swimming, we’re writing. And writing. Even if we only write a few words some days. Even if you only write one three-word sentence, that’s still 3 words you didn’t have the day before.

I’ll give you a personal example. In May, we remodeled our kitchen, doing all the work ourselves except a little plumbing. My original writing goal for May was 30,000 words. Didn’t happen. I only got 13,453 words.Most days I wrote nothing. But my lowest word count was 10 (besides the 0 word days). My highest was 1,726.

But I kept writing. Through all the extra work, the crazy schedule, the difficulties my characters threw my way. Everything. I persevered through it all. And it gave me something new to strive for. No matter what gets thrown my way this month, I am going to try to spend at least five minutes everyday writing. If that means I only get 10 words, fine. If it means I get five hours and write 4,000 or more words, great! Either way, I’m making progress. Slowly, but surely.

One last note, your writing doesn’t always have to be in your work in progress. It can be in your journal, a letter to a friend, a book review, a blog post, a little bit of free writing where you write about anything that comes to mind, outlining, etc. Be creative.

What about you? What are some struggles you have had in your writing? How have you overcome them? Will you join me the rest of this month spending at least 5 minutes per day writing? I’d love to hear from you either in the comments below or in an email.


Check out the main party blog for the list of the winners from the 3-2-1 Write! party. You can also go there to find the other bloggers who are giving out last pieces of advice.

 

5 thoughts on “When the Writing Gets Tough…

  1. Rebekah A. Morris says:

    Thanks for the encouragement, Faith. It is so easy when life gets busy to just say, “I’ll write another time” instead of making just a little time for it.
    Thank you for being a part of this party!

  2. […] via When the Writing Gets Tough… — Faith Blum […]

  3. Amanda Tero says:

    Very honest post!! Thanks for sharing!! It’s too true that we need to stop looking at “today’s progress” and just keep reaching for the goal–no matter how many weeks or months it takes to get there!

Leave a Reply

