Where Dandelions Grow: A Review

Today I am privileged to have a new book on my blog. Not mine, you’ll have to be a little more patient for that, sorry. Hopefully November, but don’t quote me on that. This book is by an author I have seen around here and there, but never really connected with until she emailed me about 1 1/2 months ago. It was fun getting to know her a bit and now I’ve also had the honor to read her new book and review it here. But first, a little about the book.

About the Book

What happens when your world falls apart and your dreams are mocked by those closest to you?

Destiny’s idyllic childhood full of laughter and cousins abruptly ended when her mom uprooted the family to move them across the country with strict instructions to never talk about Swallow Ridge again. Eleven years later Destiny moves back to her hometown, determined to find her cousins… and answers.

Plagued by generations of bitterness and manipulation, Destiny hides her life-long goal – unwilling to let anyone else trample her fragile dreams. But living in the cozy town full of dandelions teaches Destiny there’s more to life than what she’s been taught.

Is it possible Swallow Ridge not only holds the answers Destiny so intensely searches for, but also the hope?

Buy on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0753JSDBS/

Add to Goodreads: : https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35969327-where-dandelions-grow

About the Author

Lydia Howe (aka Aidyl Ewoh) is a twenty-something adventurous author who is partial to hiking in the mountains of Asia and South America, building life-size models of dinosaurs, taking road trips across Europe, visiting friends in Africa, growing up in a barn and everything in-between. She currently works in a coffee shop during the day and concocts stories by night. Find her online at her  Blog, YoutubeFacebook, TwitterGoodreads, Instagram, and Google+ 

Review

Title: Where Dandelions Grow
Written By: Lydia Howe
Genre: Contemporary Christian Fiction
Recommended Ages: 15 & up for difficult family situations

 

Introduction:

Dandelions. They are annoying weeds that pop up everywhere. But they bring such joy to a child’s heart when they lovingly pick a bouquet of flowers for Mommy and with growing excitement take the bouquet to her and receive an indulgent smile. But not all mother’s have that indulgent response. Not for the first bouquet nor for any that may or may not come later. Some children are told to reach higher than a simple weed and their enthusiasm for their dreams fade and die. This book tells such a story and brought me to tears more than once.

Characters: 1/1

Lydia Howe knows how to make unique and varying characters. Each of them had different personalities and quirks. She did a great job weaving in little clues so you knew who the character was even before they were spoken of by name.

Dialogue: 1/1

The dialogue was poignant, clear, and accurate to the time period. I especially loved the deep conversations between Destiny and Mrs. Reed.

Plot/storyline: 1/1

I have read a few books about dysfunctional families, but I have to say this is my favorite. Mostly because of the plot/storyline. Lydia did an excellent job putting together an engaging, fun, tense, and interesting story.

Overall writing quality: .75/1

For the most part this book was great! There were a few places they phrasing could have been tightened up a tiny bit, but that is just me being slightly picky.

Un-put-down-ability: 1/1

I did have to put the book down a couple times, but not because I wanted to. If I’d had my way, I would have read straight through without stopping so I could find out what happened. But when I finished, I didn’t want it to end because I knew I would miss the characters.

Conclusion: 4.75/5

This was my first book by the author and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think you will, too. I will definitely keep an eye out for more books by Lydia Howe. If you like dramatic stories, you should read this one. Even if you don’t, but you need a little pick-me-up, you should read Where Dandelions Grow. But make sure you read to the end because otherwise you’ll be rather depressed. This book does have a happy ending.

Note: I received a free copy of this book from the author under no obligation to write a review. All comments are my own.

3 thoughts on “Where Dandelions Grow: A Review

  1. […] Dandelions. They are annoying weeds that pop up everywhere. But they bring such joy to a child’s heart when they lovingly pick a bouquet of flowers for Mommy and with growing excitement take the bouquet to her and receive an indulgent smile. But not all mother’s have that indulgent response. Not for the first bouquet nor for any that may or may not come later. Some children are told to reach higher than a simple weed and their enthusiasm for their dreams fade and die. This book tells such a story and brought me to tears more than once. Read the full review here. […]

Leave a Reply

