Book Review: 5 Steps to Better Blurbs

Title: 5 Steps to Better Blurbs
Written By: Julie C. Gilbert
Genre: Writing Helps/Non-fiction
Recommended Ages: Any

Introduction:

If you have trouble with writing blurbs (and what author doesn’t?), you need to read this book.

Clarity: 1/1

Every tip in this book is said concisely and in a helpful way that should to make your book blurbs better. Whether they will help your books sell better depends on more factors than just the blurb, but it should at least help.

Usability: 1/1

Each step and tip is easy to implement. I haven’t actually used them yet, but I plan to in the next couple of weeks.

Readability: 1/1

The formatting made this short book very readable. The length of the book was also perfect.

Overall writing quality: 1/1

I didn’t find a single typo and each sentence obviously crafted with great care and thought.

Un-put-down-ability: 1/1

As with most non-fiction, it isn’t too hard to put them down, but in this case it was more due to a slight overload in information. Normally, I don’t think I would get overloaded with this book, but due to circumstances in life, I did this time.

Conclusion: 5/5

I think this book should be a must-read for any author. I’ve been writing and publishing books for almost 4 years and learned a lot during that time and still learned a few new things in this book about writing blurbs. Now I need to go through and rewrite the blurbs for all of my books. I’ll be busy for a while.

Leave a comment