Grieving and Rejoicing

This is a letter to the editor I wrote after Osama bin Laden was found and killed.  It was published in our local paper in May 2011.  After reading through it again, I realized that it is still very relevant to today.

Many may now sleep better because of the announcement of Osama bin Laden’s death and burial. However, I feel burdened to say that no matter how awful the person was, we should not applaud or rejoice over their death. Especially if they die without having known Christ as their personal Savior.

The death of bin Laden is proof that justice can be done, no matter how long it takes, but let’s just leave it at that and move on. Perhaps we can even think about our own future death. After all I can guarantee we will all die someday. Have you ever thought of where you will go when you die? Romans 6:23 and 3:22b-24 say: “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord…For there is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” There is hope for everybody if they come to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior.

God loved Osama bin Laden just as much as He loved you and me. God was terribly grieved at all that bin Laden did, but He still desired that saving relationship with bin Laden. That is why I grieve for bin Laden while still rejoicing that he can no longer do anything else to our country.

 

I hope this letter touched you.  If you are not a believer and you have questions, please feel free to contact me using the “contact me” page on the left.

Also, if you have not voted in the poll I posted earlier this week, please do so.  There is a tie right now that needs to be broken.  A note on the poll, if you vote other, please contact me directly.  I found out that for some reason those votes are not showing up in the results.  Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Grieving and Rejoicing

  1. Naomi (sister) says:

    Funny, I don’t remember ever reading that, Faith. But it’s really good!

Leave a Reply

