Avalon: a book review

Avalon by Valerie Howard

Avalon by Valerie Howard

Treasonous young Mara has been sentenced to hard labor in the slave yard before her certain death by lashings. Hatred for King Aldus of Avalon drives her every action until one day when Prince Justinius personally offers her an ultimatum. Will Mara chose to befriend her sworn enemies to spare her life? Or will she side with the rebels and die in her fierce pride?
A Christian allegory.

How does one describe or review a book like Avalon? The description didn’t really tell me much about the story, so I had absolutely no idea what to expect. What I read was completely unexpected.

Valerie Howard wrote a fantastic allegory/parable/story picture of Christ’s love and care for His Bride. It was written in such careful detail, that I could almost feel, touch, taste, and think the same things that Mara did.

Writing Style:
Though the book is in what I believe to be the fantasy genre, the writing style, speaking, and setting seems very medieval-like. The style is almost poetic at times and very well done. I read this book in two or three sittings and would have read it in one if I hadn’t had other, more urgent things to do.

Rating: 5/5

General Writing:
The writing in general was very good. There only a very few typos that I noticed and the sentence structure was well done. There were a few times when the writing got a little confusing and I wasn’t exactly sure what had just been described, but nothing that pulled me away from the story.

Rating: 4/5

Morality/Religious views:
This book described Christ’s free gift of salvation in a very unique and captivating way. The allegorical imagery makes the Bible seem more alive and vivid than it ever had before.

Rating: 5/5

Overall rating: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Avalon: a book review

  1. Jack says:

    I need to quit reading book reviews.My list has already got extra long in the last few days. Now I have one more to add. This one sounds good! And I LOVE the cover!

Leave a Reply

