Blog Tour: Meet My Main Character

Yes, I am part of yet another blog tour.  Actually, in the next month or so, I will be posting three more (not counting this one).  But, in this one you get to meet the main character in Be Thou My Vision, Anna Stuart.  I was tagged for this tour by Shannon Pemrick.  Shannon is the author of a dystopian/fairytale book called Experimental Heart: Pieces.

And now on to the questions.

1) What is the name of your character? Is she fictional or a historic person?

The main character of Be Thou My Vision is Anna Stuart.  She is a fictional character who has become disgruntled with life, or at least the life she currently lives.

2) WhCowboy1en and where is the story set?

Be Thou My Vision is set in 1877 through 1879 in the Tennessee farmland.

3) What should we know about her?

Anna is a very strong-willed character, but also has a great capacity to love.  In contrast to that, she can also be easily discouraged especially when it seems like everything goes wrong.

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up her life?

The main conflict is gossip.  Gossip almost ruins her chances to live out her dream.

5) What is the personal goal of the character?

In the beginning of the book, Anna has no goals except live through that day and get on to the next.  After a few chapters, her goal is to live in a way that is pleasing to God.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

Actually no, there isn’t.  It’s not a working title, it is the title that will be used: Be Thou My Vision. As for reading more about it, I suppose I can give you an unedited excerpt from chapter one.

I walked home with fear and excitement in my heart. The letter seemed to burn a hole through my pocket. Oh how I wished I could just tear it open right now and read what my little brother had to say. It had been more than seven years since his fourteenth birthday—the day he left—and this was the first letter we had received from him since.

For the first time in years, I felt like running all the way home. But, even an old maid like me wasn’t supposed to run lest I be labeled an “eccentric old maid”. I rolled my eyes at the thought. Of course, I already am considered eccentric since I don’t go to church and I barely socialize with folks.

“What is wrong with being eccentric anyway?” I mumbled to myself. Out loud. Good gracious! It was a good thing no one else used this road. The number of times I could have been caught talking to myself would be rather embarrassing.

Taking a quick look around, I saw that I was near the fields where Da and Caleb were working. I picked up my pace. “Caleb! Da! We have a letter from Jed!” I waved the letter at them. Caleb looked up from his work with a grin a mile wide. He was like that. He was almost always happy-go-lucky no matter what happened. I wished I could be that way. Da glanced toward me before getting back to his work. He wasn’t one to show much emotion, especially when it came to Jed.

I strode to the house in a rather unladylike fashion—who would see it anyway, much less care? I put away my purchases and was just looking around the living room to figure out what to do next when Caleb and Da clomped into the kitchen. I smiled with satisfaction. Caleb had convinced Da to come in and get the letter reading over with. Good!

As I took the letter out of my apron pocket, I walked through the doorway into the kitchen. Caleb looked at me with anticipation written all over his face. He messed with his hands,–clenching and unclenching, gripping and ungripping them—like he always did when nervous about something. Da kept his eyes clued to the wall, trying to pretend he didn’t care what Jed had to say. I knew better. He did care in his own way. If for no other reason than just because he wanted to know what Jed had been doing the last seven years.

Caleb was the first to speak. “What’s it say, Anna?”

I looked to Da for permission to read. He gave a curt nod and I tore the envelope open. The thick envelope held two different letters. One was written by a man I did not know and I chose to set it aside in favor of Jed’s letter. Jed’s familiar handwriting beckoned to me from the paper. His handwriting was still childlike, scrawling all over the page. The paper even had an almost Jed-like smell to it. I swallowed hard before my emotions got the better of me.

The letter was lengthy by his standards. Even as a boy, he had never been wordy about anything.

The paper crinkled as I unfolded it with care. I took a shaky breath before beginning to read.

7) When can we expect the book to be published?

Lord willing, I am hoping to have it published before December 2014 and no later than March 2015.  All of this depends on what happens between now and then and how much revision I need to do.

For this tour, I am supposed to tag 4-5 authors, but I was only able to get three commitments, so here are the brave three (and a big huge THANK YOU to the two of you):

Of_Whispers_and_Wand_Cover_for_KindleTheodora Ashcraft is a homeschooler who, when she’s not exploring the mystical world of Solarii, lives in rainy Washington State with her mother, father, and brother. She spends most of her time writing, doing school, chatting with friends, and trying to get rid of the annoying pixies who live in her closet. She recently published a collection of short stories and poems entitled “Of Whispers and Wanderings”. If you would like to contact her, visit one of her blogs: http://whispersofwindandsong.blogspot.com/ 

 
She would love to hear from you!
Aundy Cover

A hopeless romantic with a bit of sarcasm thrown in for good measure, Shanna Hatfield is a best-selling author of clean romantic fiction written with a healthy dose of humor. In addition to blogging and eating too much chocolate, she is completely smitten with her husband, lovingly known as Captain Cavedweller.

Shanna Hatfield 2Shanna creates character-driven romances with realistic heroes and heroines. Her historical westerns have been described as “reminiscent of the era captured by Bonanza and The Virginian” while her contemporary works have been called “laugh-out-loud funny, and a little heart-pumping sexy without being explicit in any way.”

She is a member of Western Writers of America, Women Writing the West, and Romance Writers of America.

Find Shanna’s books at:

Amazon | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords | Apple

Follow Shanna online:

ShannaHatfield | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads | You Tube | Twitter

Kathryn Fogleman

BIO: Kathryn Fogleman is a random dragon rider on the USS Enterprise who follows Aslan’s call across the planets and who likes to write stories and talk to voices in her head. Weird? Nah. Just overly creative…

 

Leave a Reply

