Are you ready?

Noah's Ark

At VBS this year, the kids learned about Noah and the flood. Many people believe Noah and the flood is just a children’s story. It isn’t just a story. It really happened, but I’m not writing this post to debate the evidences for or against a worldwide flood.

What I am here to write about is Noah. When God looked down on the earth and saw that the heart of man “was only evil continually,” He also saw that Noah stood against everyone else. Noah stood up for righteousness, he did good rather than evil.

Instead of destroying His whole creation, God had Noah build an ark so He could save the animals as well as Noah and his family. Why was this so amazing and hard for Noah to do?

Now no shrub of the field was yet in the earth, and no plant of the field had yet sprouted, for the Lord God had not sent rain upon the earth, and there was no man to cultivate the ground. But a mist used to rise from the earth and water the whole surface of the ground.” Genesis 2:5-6 (emphasis added)

rain-863339_640According to those verses, it had never rained on the earth. Was this still the case when Noah was around? We don’t know for sure. What we do know is that people thought Noah was crazy to build a big boat for some “imaginary” flood that was coming. They even had about 100 years to change their minds and I’m sure Noah warned them multiple times about the flood. It would be like someone telling you that a volcano was going to bury Kansas in lava soon. That person would sound crazy!

Not only would he be crazy to think a flood was coming but he had also been tasked to build a boat big enough for two-seven of each species of animal to live in for a while. How big was the ark? Here are a few comparisons I found on Answers in Genesis‘s website:

Noah's Ark in Relation to a Football Field

Let’s visualize how long this actually is by comparing it to items we are familiar seeing.

  • The Ark was twice as long as an early Boeing 747-100B airliner.

  • It would take nearly one and a half football fields to equal the Ark’s length.

  • Sixty-two Smart Cars parked bumper to bumper would stretch from the Ark’s bow to stern.

  • NASA could lay three space shuttles—nose to tail—upon the Ark’s deck.

What is my point in all of this? My favorite verse in the story about Noah is Genesis 6:8:

But Noah found favor [or grace] in the eyes of the Lord.

How did Noah find grave in the eyes of the Lord? The next verse says, “Noah was a righteous man, blameless in his time; Noah walked with God.

We live in a time when lawlessness is becoming more and more the norm. Terrorism, shootings, police brutality, beatings, and so much more. It’s all over the news.

“[E]very intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.” (Genesis 6:5)

But there are still a few who live righteously. Are you one of them?

Are you ready to stand up against the crowd and trust God–no matter what others say about you? Are you ready to say the hard things even if it means the possibility of alienating people? Lord willing, I am.

In closing, I would ask for your prayers. I am in the process of writing another blog post that is saying some hard things and could alienate me from some of my Christian friends. I pray I am wrong in my assumption, but I also feel that God is telling me the blog post needs to be written no matter what happens afterwards. Prayers for courage and just the right words to say would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to share your prayer requests with me if you have hard things that you need to do. I am more than willing to reciprocate.

Save

6 thoughts on “Are you ready?

  1. amandatero says:

    Thank you for this, Faith!! It is always good to be reminded of how to live like Godly men (and women) of old. And it absolutely blesses me to read an article that encourages believers and points us to Christ. Keep following the Lord in your writing!!

  2. Naomi says:

    I am praying for you, Faith! I am curious what you have to say, and am eager to read your next post.

  3. My mom was just telling me a few days ago that they finished a replica of the ark(to scale) and they’re putting animals in it and everything.

    I’d love to go see it someday to grasp the full extent of what Noah had to accomplish.

    https://arkencounter.com/

Leave a Reply

